Stockpiling with a Roommate

Yes, the title of this blog is “Couponing for One”–that is, for those of us living on our own. However, despite the fact that I consider myself to be couponing for just me, I do, like a majority of college students, have a fellow student for a roommate (soon to be two fellow students). This brings an entire host of complications for a couponer, especially if you’re non-confrontational like I am. Below are some hopefully helpful guidelines for seeing you through this.

1. Be respectful of your shared space
This goes back to something I mentioned in my “Couponing vs. Couponing for One” post: you have to be very careful in how you use what limited space you have. When you have a roommate, this is exacerbated, because you’re limited to half of the storage and pantry space.

I solve this by keeping our things separate. In the pantry, my roommate has two of the shelves, and I have two of them. Granted, mine are much fuller than hers, but I make sure to contain all my stockpiled dry goods to my shelves. I also noticed that she didn’t use much room in the freezer, so I asked if it would be okay if I used more space. Another option, if you and your roommate share groceries, is to ask if you can set aside the top shelf for your stockpile. Either way, set aside a stockpile space and don’t let it invade their territory–after all, you’re both working with a limited amount of it.

2. Make a list of who buys what–but be generous
One of the biggest problems I’ve had with college roommates (and I am one, so I say this admitting that I’ve done the same) is keeping up with who last bought paper towels, dish detergent, and other shared items. One way to keep track of this is to have a bulletin board or sheet of paper with different items written on it. Every time that you buy something, write your name under that item. I do use this when stockpiling–if I buy three boxes of dish detergent, I write my name three times. However, my roommate knows that I coupon, and so I don’t expect a 1:1 ratio on how many items we provide. I buy more than her, quantity-wise, but spend less.

Remember, just because you’re spending less on your contributions to the household items, it doesn’t mean that you have to “make up” for that fact. For example, I keep the apartment stocked with paper towels, toilet paper, dish detergent, and other items that I got for free or extremely cheap. I don’t think it’s too much to ask that my roommate buy garbage bags (something it’s hard to get free or super-cheap) in return. Sure, she’s spending more money OOP than I am, but I put a lot of time and effort into couponing. In the end, I’m still saving both of us money by keeping the house supplied with a lot of different items.

3. Share
This one seems obvious, but I figured it’s worth noting anyways. If you know your roommate uses a certain kind of shampoo, soap, or other item, pick it up for them if you can get it for free. If your stockpile of laundry detergent has gotten way too big for one person thanks for a money-making deal somewhere, ask them if they want a bottle. This works better than telling them “I have tons of laundry detergent–help yourself!” because it keeps them from thinking that you will always provide free laundry detergent on demand.

4. You’re being respectful, so expect the same
One pitfall I discovered the hard way is that a roommate who doesn’t understand how stockpiling and couponing work can take unintentional advantage of your hard work. I shared something I’d stockpiled with my roommate, making the note that I had gotten it for a really great price, which she then took as an invitation to share my stockpile of that item with her friends whenever they came over. The direct approach, of course, is to ask your roommate not to do that, perhaps setting up some guidelines (if it’s individually wrapped, ask; if it’s bulk like flour or ketchup, feel free). However, I’m way too non-confrontational for that.

Finding a way to work the finer points of stockpiling into a casual conversation was my first thought, but I realized before trying that it would be way too hard. Instead, I simply told my roommate, “Hey, you really like those, right? Really good sales don’t come around often on them, but if you want me to, I can pick you some up the next time I can get them for under a dollar a box and you can just pay me back.” She didn’t take me up on it, but the point was very politely made, and the problem was solved.

Any other tips or suggestions, feel free to share them in the comments!

About couponingforone

I am a graduate student who stumbled into the world of couponing out of a desire to not pay so much for contact solution! I'm now at the point where I would never dream of paying for contact solution, but many of the coupon blogs out there focus on couponing with a family. With that in mind, I wanted to help others like myself who only need to coupon for one.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Stockpiling with a Roommate

  1. run4joy59 says:

    oh my…I’m soooo glad I don’t have to deal with a room mate…did that a couple times and it was awful…much happier living by myself!!

Leave a comment